Art is community, or, a love note to POV Magazine

I love POV Magazine. It seems to be a mutual love affair (after all, they called me a hero recently – unless that was meant in some kind of post-ironic hipster way), which is always the nicest kind, don’t you think?

PoV_poster1

Like many poets and writers, I’ve shopped my work around to a vast number of people and places, hoping for publication to artistically validate that solitary and abstract thing you do with words that you’re sure will probably never make sense to anyone else. So, it’s a great feeling when someone likes your work and wants to include it in their publication. That’s happened to me a few times, and I get a kick out of it on each and every occasion. I’ve even been lucky enough to feature in a number of POV Magazine’s issues, which has been just great.

But, more importantly, POV Magazine has brought me a great deal of joy in its short life, and has brought to my attention a number of very talented artists who continue to interest me both inside and outside the POV Magazine pages.

They are writers, poets, photographers, surreal tweeters, painters, musicians, digital wizards, and much more.

PoV_poster3

This brings me the point of this post (other than just generally taking the opportunity to share my love of POV Magazine with the two or three of you out there who might read this) – that is, art is community.

That’s right: art is community. Some of us may say, and may well, create art just for our own pleasure, but I’d argue that the creative urge doesn’t really reside abstractly in asocial beings. We need an audience for art to make sense, even if the audience itself is quite abstract.

In this way, the founders and editors of POV Magazine – Chris Pilkington (@SgtPilko) and Benjamin Turner (@benturner83) – have done a sterling job of connecting people all over the world in a brand new community, of forming a new audience, of inspiring artists to create and submit their work for that audience. These good chaps have turned me on to people I may never have come across elsewhere, if it wasn’t for their efforts and their cool as fuck magazine.

So, thank you and thank you to them. Also, I should say, I really like their own contributions (Chris’s drumming, Ben’s photos…need I say more?).

Whether it is the sublime photography of Daniel D. Moses (@danieldmoses) and James Maher (@jamesmaherphoto), or the great poetry of Jack Leaf Willetts (@JLeafWilletts), in Issue 1, whether it is the powerful writing of Emma Seymour (@Emseymour) and boozy story-telling of Joe Clifford (@joeclifford23) in Issue 2, whether it is the surreal humour of @SupermanTweets in lots of issues, or the many written contributions of Kyrsten Bean (@KyrstenBean), whether it is the wild wedding photography of Emma Case (@EmmaCase) in Issue 6, it doesn’t matter, I love it all.

I hope everyone keeps at it, and keeps making these art communities and audiences, again and again, and over and over.

PoV_poster2

